Leave a comment

Grandma Joyner’s Baked Beans

Grandma Joyner

The best recipes are family recipes, passed along and adapted from one generation to the next.

Whenever I’m asked to bring a dish to share for a cookout or potluck, I’ll pick a tried-and-true, taste-tested favorite, like my Grandma Joyner’s Baked Beans. This is why everyone thinks I’m such a good cook. I’m smart enough to stick to the basics and the dishes I know play well with crowds. They’re dishes like my fried wontons, baked brie, chili, Paula Deen’s strawberry cake and Grandma Joyner’s baked beans.

I’ve eaten too many “experimental” dishes at cookouts and parties to know that you don’t try a new recipe for the first time when cooking for company. 

Be warned, these baked beans are not low-cal or low-fat. But they’re delicious.

I suppose you could use any kinds of beans in this recipe, but my Grandma Joyner swore you had to use Van Camp’s Pork & Beans. Out of respect for family traditions and her memory, I’ve never tried anything else. (If you do, I don’t want to hear about it!)

Grandma Joyner’s Baked Beans

1 can Van Camp’s Pork & Beans

1 small onion

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup ketchup

4 slices bacon

1/2 teaspoon mustard

Preheat oven to 300 degrees.

Fry bacon in pan. Remove bacon and simmer onions in bacon drippings.

Crumble bacon and mix remaining ingredients together in a casserole dish.

Bake uncovered at 300 degrees for 60 minutes.

* I always double this recipe, and I’ve been known to triple and quadruple it when cooking for a crowd. If you prefer, you can reduce the amount of bacon when making larger batches.

— Atta Girl Amy

Leave a Reply

